Autism Watch: 2007

Latest News About Autism

Posted on: August 18, 2011

Autism, ADHD Share Genetic Similarities: Good article by Fox News.com and the title gives you a big clue what it’s about 😉     I saw this one in a news feed earlier today, so I googled it and found it’s referenced in quite a few blogs, so you may have already read it. That search then made me realize, I haven’t done a news entry lately, so here you go.

Autistic Maple Grove Boy Wins Battle for Treatment Coverage: a StarTribune article that’s inspiring to see as it’s a success story, but my first thought was “Why are we as a community still having to fight for this??”

Progress slow but sure in fight against autism: The Inquirer and Mirror writes a piece that makes me say “Really?” Where is this hope at the end of the tunnel? My son already has autism. We already get zip for help from any foundation or organization that all these funds raised go to, and because I work, we don’t qualify yet we can’t afford all the therapies out-of-pocket. I don’t want my son “cured.” I just want him happy and learn to regulate, and that won’t happen without services that the average person can’t get.

Missing Middletown Teen Reunites With His Family: Killingworth-Durham-Middlefield Patch article (whew, way too long of a name there). Feel good piece, as too often, these missing kids are found too late. SO nice to hear of a positive ending! For those who think Asperger’s and/or ‘high-functioning autism’ isn’t so bad, ahem, it’s still autism. Speech doesn’t necessarily cure much.

Autism Makes Multi-Tasking Difficult: ThirdAge.com article. To whoever did that research and came up with earth-shattering news? Thanks, Captain Obvious.

That’s it for today. IEP now set for next Tuesday…can we make it the remaining 3 days??

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Twitter Updates


  • Emily: Thank you so much. I share your pain and am glad to know I'm not alone in my struggles with my very verbal autistic spectrum son.
  • Meet Julia, an Autistic Girl in a Sesame Street world | American Badass Activists: […] Apocalypse. That, or demonized in news and online rants, especially after a campus mass murder or a plane-halting meltdown . . . . So this b
  • Alecia: I'm an autistic young woman in the 7th grade. I have experienced exceedingly stupefied and unnecessary discrimination since elementary school. It is s
