Autism Watch: 2007

School and Autism

Posted on: August 17, 2011

I opened up my blog page, thought about the title, and then realized, why am I thinking on this? I’m definitely over-thinking this. So I decided to cut to the chase: this entry is about school and autism. Voila, the name of the entry.

First, the disclaimer: I’m tired and lacking creativity.

I slept well last night. Went to bed at 11:30 after watching the two-hour finale of Masterchef (yay for Jennifer!) and I passed out as soon as the TV was off, but 5:30am comes early. My mornings consist of getting BB ready for school, signing in to work, working, taking him to school, and working until I pick him up. Then I work another 30-45 minutes or so. I’m used to that, but when you’re dealing with your school every single day, and dealing with your child venting about school the rest of the time, it’s tiring. It sucks your creativity like a Dyson picks up dog hair. Sorry, BB’s service lab sheds like you wouldn’t believe so it’s an analogy all too in-my-face.

Moving on…these last couple of weeks have been the proverbial rollercoaster. We have a great day and things look good. The next day blows big chunks and he doesn’t ever want to go again, once the anxiety-induced migraine goes away and he’s willing to talk as opposed to crying and yelling. Fun stuff.

IEPs are good things to have. Nice handy legal documents that explain how things should work and give people guidelines. But much like a restraining order and a persistent abusive ex, it’s only a piece of paper that totally depends on people to follow it.

One teacher/administrator who doesn’t feel the accommodations are right, doesn’t want to do the accommodations, or just has assumptions about your child and the diagnosis can blow the whole thing.

Long story short, that’s where we are right now. We’ve got a wonderful team around us, albeit a busy one, and we have one person in particular who gets BB. And one person who doesn’t…and doesn’t seem like she wants to.

BB is burned out. I’m burned out. Dh is burned out. We’re at the crossroads of: This is Your Last Chance to Make it Work Road and Homeschooling Highway. Not a place I wanted to be but then again, I never wanted to be a part of the autism club either.

BB is happy tonight. He is positive towards tomorrow, so I will be, too. It can be a hard thing to tell yourself: think positive, don’t let the last two weeks of hassles get you down, shrug it off and have faith. But I’m trying. Trying hard, and letting BB lead the way. He teaches me more than anyone I’ve ever known.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Twitter Updates


  • Emily: Thank you so much. I share your pain and am glad to know I'm not alone in my struggles with my very verbal autistic spectrum son.
  • Meet Julia, an Autistic Girl in a Sesame Street world | American Badass Activists: […] Apocalypse. That, or demonized in news and online rants, especially after a campus mass murder or a plane-halting meltdown . . . . So this b
  • Alecia: I'm an autistic young woman in the 7th grade. I have experienced exceedingly stupefied and unnecessary discrimination since elementary school. It is s
