Autism Watch: 2007

Where Autism-Caused Routines and Summer Boredom Intersect

Posted on: July 14, 2011

It’s a party, lemme tell ya.

Ha. Anyone who has a child with autism can smell my sarcasm a mile away, yes? What’s that, ten miles? Why yes, of course. It’s pretty powerful sarcasm.

Barnacle Boy (who is still my Barnacle Boy, btw, even at ten — he wants to see me first thing in the morning, cuddle, be near me and runs up and kisses/hugs me sporadically) is obsessed with computer games. He writes code, scripts games and is planning on being a computer hacker for the government someday so he can help catch the bad guys. Computers are his thing, and he definitely has the aptitude..and the attitude, as he’s not so much for social skills in a lot of ways and he’s got a lot of interest in being self-employed as well as the creativity and ingenuity to invent amazing things. He’s fascinating to listen to, can have a wonderful (one-sided) conversation and he’s got such a sense of humor interlaced with the vocabulary of a well-bred adult. He’s also very routine-oriented and likes things a certain way, which makes showing our house as we sell very…interesting. But he’s going with the flow.

Anyway, BB has his routines, and they are to play computer games much of the day during the summer. With the heat index regularly over 100, it’s not horrible, because he can’t really play outside for more than a few minutes at a time, other than swimming, and he does a lot of that. (But we even have to be careful there, he had another bout of swimmer’s ear last month.) As summer goes on, he’s beating a lot of the games and tiring of some of the things the newer players do. I try to teach him that those players could be much younger than him, and that not everyone has the same level of skill but that’s a hard thing to teach. So what do I hear a lot?

Every mom’s nightmare: “Mom, I’m bored!”

I can do like I do with the rest of the kids and threaten him with chores, but that buys me only a couple of minutes. Other kids scatter like roaches in the light, but he stops for a couple of minutes, thinks, and then again says he’s bored. I have pulled out movies, made cookie dough for him to shape, bought art supplies, you name it…so what did I resort to today? Buying more online game subscriptions. Cancelling two others. It’s a revolving door. So I’m set until school starts in a couple of weeks, right? Ha. It took four hours before I heard “Sigh. I’m going to sign off for a bit, I’m tired of this game.”

Out comes $8 and his sister to take him to McD’s for shakes. Forty-five minutes, and $7.40 later, they are home. Shouldn’t $7.40 buy more than 45 minutes of non-boredom??

I am trying to get him into new things, but that’s a lot harder than it sounds. He’s got the world’s greatest treehouse, with a new sling chair installed, but it’s too hot. He’s got this awesome rip-rider..too hot. Wii? Played all the games. Board games? No, only Stratego..and then he kicks my butt. Every.Single.Time.

I love having him home for summer and I don’t really think it’s long enough, but maybe year-round school suits his needs. We’ve already found out his teacher, and next week, I need to meet with her so he can get a chance to be familiar with his class before the first day, and I can be sure she’s familiar with BB and his needs. It’s in the IEP, but you know how that goes.

Stay out of the heat and if you are below 75 when you go to sleep, hush…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

Twitter Updates


