Autism Watch: 2007

If You Don’t XXXX, You’re Probably Wrong!

Posted on: February 13, 2011

First, I don’t really think that, but I was told again yesterday that if I didn’t try xxx on BB (for his autism) then I was a sheeple going along with the general public, just because my doctor said so. Well, I’ll be! Baaaaa-aaaaa. šŸ˜‰

After all these years in the autism community, I still get shocked at this mentality, the “I research, I talk about it, thereforeĀ  I am more educated than you” mentality. We’ve probably all run into that here and there. (Or am I just lucky?)

So many things are wrong with this picture. I won’t list them, because I have Valentine’s day cookies in the oven and quite honestly, don’t want to devote to much (more) time to nonsense, but the holier-than-thou attitude doesn’t fly well with me. I don’t go around tooting my own horn, telling you how many hours every day I research autism, how much I advocate for autism, or how many people I’ve helped; what’s the point of that? So just because I don’t tell you about it doesn’t mean that I don’t do it. So when you tell me that the new headache medicine I’m trying for BB is wrong simply because it’s not biomedical and instead is a prescription from the pharmaceutical industry given to me by a ‘drug-pushing’ doctor? You’re wrong.

Somehow this society has confused caring for another and looking out for their best interest with judgmental nosey-ness. There’s a way to share your feelings without putting down those who don’t agree or choose another path. You aren’t ‘better’ than someone, nor is your child necessarily any better off, so get off your high horse.

Just one of those days where I wonder why (not) the autism community can’t do something with the power of numbers: we can’t even get along with ourselves without inflicting the same judgment and nastiness the rest of the world inflicts on us simply because they don’t (choose to) understand autism.

Until that is fixed, we’re not going to make the change we want.

And with that, I’m off to get another tray of non-gluten free cookies out of the oven. (That didn’t work on my child, which makes me a pariah in some circles, imagine that. Autism isn’t bad enough, but because a remedy for only approximately 60% of the community doesn’t work for us, we’re fair game for questioning on that, as in ‘are you sure you did it right?’ It’s not rocket science, folks. But I will stop now.)

Happy Valentine’s day to all!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

Twitter Updates


