Autism Watch: 2007

Blogging Daily About Autism?

Posted on: January 2, 2011

I toyed with the idea of joining WordPress’s new Post a Day challenge. I came so close, but then realized a couple of key things that changed my mind.

1) I didn’t want to ruin a perfectly good adequate blog with forced posts. In other words, I didn’t want to throw up a post just because I felt committed to the challenge, as there are days that my head just isn’t in the game. Some days, it’s challenge enough just getting everything done that I have to get done, and the non-essentials sit by the wayside. Blogging, as much as I love it, is still a non-essential. While I’d love it to be more important somehow, it’d have to be more important to others than just me, and unless that happens, I can’t bump it up my personal list.

2) Some days, autism takes a back seat. That’s not to say my son is suddenly cured on some days, but just that I don’t think about autism and its profound effect on our lives every single day. Don’t get me wrong, the “a” word is there each and every day in some regard, but there are days that I just want to call “good days.” I want to just be with my son, just be a ‘normal’ mom and go throughout the day without focusing on autism. I want to do the laundry, make dinner, supervise homework, plan the next day’s events, pray, chat, have a glass of wine, hop on my elliptical and ‘be,’ rather than being a mom with a child with autism. In short, autism doesn’t define my life, and there are other aspects of my life that deserve focus. I have other kids, a husband, a job, hobbies, and that’s all I need.

I’ve been told that on my personal Facebook page, I don’t mention enough about autism. Enough? Who determines what enough is? Honestly, I don’t want to see my Facebook newsfeed and see nothing but autism. I’m going to say it once, quietly, and never again: some people seem to thrive on discussing autism and the attention the hardships bring. Don’t take that wrong — well, it’s not entirely nice, I suppose, but sometimes it seems like when the attention over one issue dies down, there’s something else, an ongoing poor me saga that just drains you, and you don’t even see them on a face-to-face basis, ever. There’s unity in sharing hardships and giving/getting support and sharing resources, and that’s a necessity, but I can’t believe that some people don’t have any good in their lives that they can’t share something other than a newspaper article that’s about an abused autistic child, a comment about some wasted research, or how their school gave more money to the gifted children that week than the special ed program or how their husband didn’t spend 467 minutes supervising therapy with the child as they did. When life stinks, we want to vent and get support, but life stinks in more ways than just autism. If I focus just on autism, I miss out on everything else, and the other things that stink don’t get the attention they need. So, for me, “enough” is as often as I want to post about it. If it’s not enough for someone else, there are a lot of blogs or FB friends out there that you can head to for more autism-related news.

I do have another blog, totally unrelated to autism other than a mention here and there in regards to life with my family and things that occur in our lives. In a general sense. I’m not the best blogger there either, only posting a few days a week. I hope to get more devoted to that blog as well, but my little guy deserves more than the back of my head while I’m at the computer.

Happy New Year’s to everyone! (A day late is better than never, right?)

2 Responses to "Blogging Daily About Autism?"

I completely agree. When I started my blog two years ago, I was afraid I wouldn’t have enough to say to post regularly. But I didn’t want the additional stress of writing just to meet one more arbitrary deadline, and I didn’t have time to waste writing just to fill space. So I made it a family blog. My wife and kids only contribute occasionally, but I feel less like the blog’s “survival” depends on me. I posted about this early on, and a friend advised me that, to make blogging an enjoyable and recreational activity, write when you feel you have something to say, and not when you don’t, and don’t worry too much about how often that is. It’s proved to be good advice. At times, I was busy, or didn’t have much to say, and I didn’t post for weeks. Other times, I’d see things I wanted to share, and wrote several short posts in one day. Still other times, I felt inspired, and spent several hours composing and polishing a post. It has all averaged out. Yesterday I wrote the 365th post, two years and nine days after the first post.

As for content, my blog isn’t an Autism Blog. It’s a blog about life. Autism is a big part of our lives, but it is not the whole of anyone’s life. So, while I do write frequently about autism, and more frequently about my son who has autism, I write about a lot of other things, too. I don’t write a lot about people not connected with my family. As for tone, I don’t aim for a particularly positive or negative attitude. I just write what is—the good, the happy, the sad, the weird, the wonderful, the beautiful and strange.

Wow, I totally agree! Some facebook autism mom friends are rapid firing posts about the suckiness and injustices of autism about two dozen times a day–then like you said, drownings and beatings in school, etc. I had to stop reading them all! It was wrecking my spirit and made me feel like a total victim. I wrote a blog post about it a while back that captured my dilemma, and I’ve got to say, making my decision to change my focus while still being informed “enough” helped me SO much!: http://hopingnotcoping.wordpress.com/2010/04/03/at-the-intersection-of-autism-awareness-day-and-good-friday/

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

Twitter Updates

