Autism Watch: 2007

Someone Asked Me…

Posted on: November 16, 2010

Recently, a non-internet-user (yes, they still exist!) asked me why I blog. She couldn’t understand why a person would write their personal stories in such a public place for strangers to see. I understood her question, because the way she phrased it was basically the bottom line — my life as it pertains to autism is indeed written out for the world to see. But I’m not sure she understood my response.

To me, writing this blog has been a form of autism awareness. It’s a way to reach out to other parents who may be dealing with similar situations, and to help the world see how profoundly autism can affect a family and a community, even (and pardon the term) “high-functioning autism.”And let’s face, it’s a place to vent at times when there’s no other recourse.

The media so often shows the most severely affected children with autism. So many media pieces are written about the non-verbal and the cognitively affected that there are still people in the general public who are unaware that a child can have autism and speak and not sit rocking in a corner. My blog is a way of sharing that autism can hit anyone, all sexes, all ages, all income levels, all races, anyone. One in 70 boys is now thought to have a form of autism, and 1 in 110 children overall are diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder. Staggering numbers.

When I write, I trust the reader. I assume that people read because they’re interested in autism, and when they read, they remember they’re reading about a sweet, beautiful, extremely intelligent nine-year-old boy with the most gorgeous of eyes, a penchant to hug mom spontaneously and an extreme innocence about the world. Maybe my trust is naive, but I’d like to think that anyone taking the time to read my sometimes very long entries is keeping in mind that they’re reading about a child whose mom loves him like readers love their own children. If someone’s looking for someone to mock, go elsewhere. Don’t believe in my views? That’s fine, that’s your prerogative, but there are debate boards on the internet calling your name. Just like you wouldn’t point at an autistic or otherwise different child in public and laugh at his illness or uncontrollable tics, it’s not okay to do it here.

I’m one of millions of bloggers in the world, people who do so for lots of different reasons. I’m glad my friend asked me why I blog, as it gave me some time to really think about the why and not just the what. I hope to encourage people that autism can improve, and that autistic children are amazing individuals who deserve our love, time, respect and compassion. Autism is just a different way of life, not a bad life. A diagnosis is hard, but they’re still your child and you will rise to the occasion. I wouldn’t ask for an autism diagnosis, but now I’m a better parent than I was before. I’m a more accepting individual and when I hear a crying child in public, I don’t plug my ears and get all haughty about my personal experience being inconvenienced; instead, my instinct is to see if mom needs help and to tell those who are complaining to be quiet and grow some decency. My child is an amazing blessing, and his autism has given this unexplainably unique view on the world that is going to make this world a better place. Autism may be a lifelong condition, but there’s hope and as their primary advocates, we parents owe it to them to never forget that. It’s so uplifting to read the stories on the internet about the strides children and parents are making, and I hope no one ever gives up on sharing it for the masses to read. Together we can show everyone that our kids are worth it.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

Twitter Updates

