Autism Watch: 2007

Autism Community: Equal Representation for All?

Posted on: July 15, 2010

Just to start out, I’m going to say no. Categorically, no.

I’ve been a part of the community now for almost six years. I didn’t want to be a part of the community, but I am. On most days, I’m glad to be a part of it — it got me through some very difficult days, I’ve made some wonderful friends (online and offline) and I continue to check in for resources and to get/give support as necessary. On other days though, I’m disappointed.

If you’ve read my blog at all, you know I speak my mind. Autism tends to do that to you. You don’t have time to mess around, so you get around to the meat of the issue or you just walk away and leave it because you have more important things to do. For a while now, I’ve just walked away because I have, like everyone else, a busy life, but there are times when I shake my head and sigh and think “What a shame.”

A few years ago, I was being included in an article about autism, parenting, and alternative autism treatments. I was excited to be part of it, because I really believe autism is not displayed to the world for what it really is.  (More on that later.) I also wholeheartedly believe in biomedical treatment for autism, be it whole hog GFCF diet and a bunch of supplements or just the addition of a healthy vitamin and removing dye from a child’s diet. I readied for my interview, and on the day it was to take place, received a call notifying me that we weren’t going to be able to be included. What? I fit the requirements of what you were asking for — I’m a parent of a child on the autism spectrum who is receiving biomedical treatment living in a certain locale, and my child is a male within the required age-range. How did I fit before but not now?

I was surprised at the answer: “You aren’t biomedical enough.”

Really?

First, what is “enough?” Secondly, why didn’t requirements list that up front, and probably most importantly, (thirdly?) why isn’t your article showing people that you don’t have to be GFCF, anti-yeast, seven daily supplements, chelation and HBOT to actually have biomedical success? Why is only the extreme being included?

They didn’t give me a good answer, but I gave up. This was when life was even busier now, as my child was younger and his issues were worse, and I didn’t have time to fight every battle. I wish now though that I had.

Much of the autism community longs for acceptance by the rest of the world. We push for it for our children, and we want mainstream medicine to give credence to our feelings and facts. We just don’t give it to each other. We aren’t doing ourselves any favors if those ‘facts’ only include only those that are the worst, only those that are the most extreme, or only those who make for the best media interest.  We don’t like it when autism research is ripped apart and nitpicked, yet are we guilty of it ourselves if we don’t allow for all those on the spectrum to be represented?

At the time, my son was taking a multi-vitamin designed for children with autism, was casein-free, was on an anti-yeast protocol and zinc for a mouthing/licking tic. And he was improving. Shouldn’t that have been enough? Then again, I heard then (and still do) from other parents that he should also be gluten-free and on a bunch of other supplements. We can sure be the harshest support system ever.

Another case in point: many autism segments on television shows, movies or news segments include the same families and usually severe children. My beef’s not with seeing the same people — they have the right to participate in whatever they choose — but what about the rest of the world? Are they not volunteering or are we just using the same spokespeople over and over because they make a bigger impact? How does one get ‘in the loop’ to be included so the general public can truly see the variance in autism? I won’t go so far as to use the word “clique,” which I’ve heard it referred to numerous times, because I’m not sure what the cause is, but the world is full of amazing autism families, and the same few are the only ones that will ever become known to the world. I also feel strongly that mildly affected children should be included as well as moderate and severe. Maybe it’s because I’m tired of hearing “really? Your son has autism? I couldn’t tell” because they don’t know enough about mild autism and therefore, they don’t think “hmmm, maybe he has autism” and instead think “What a brat.” Or maybe it’s because there are so many parents out there not getting their own children the help they need because the kids they saw in the piece about autism on last week’s news show all were non-verbal and very obvious developmental issues, tics or other obvious things. Probably some of each, and a few other reasons, too.

The next charity autism mini-movie that I see, I’d love to see it include those with Asperger’s who are so desperate to have friends that they would do anything to fit in but don’t know how, some verbal autistic children who are grades ahead in their class at school but can’t handle the blinking lights in the classroom, the children who aren’t potty-trained but are vocal enough to tell you their feelings on being teased for their diaper, along with the non-verbal children who stim and spin and hand-flap. That’s the real autism community, from one end of the curve to the other. It’s the very real spectrum, and maybe it won’t grab hearts as much as just the extreme kids, but why not show it like it really is?

There are awe-inspiring people in the autism community, and I’ve been lucky to meet many of them. When I need some help or want to share something I’ve learned, I’m equally lucky to know that they’re there. But I think we fall seriously short of equal representation. We want to show our worst, our noisiest and our most renown — it makes for better media. But does that make it better in the long run?

For the quiet, unknown moms, dads and children  in the autism community, the ones who aren’t online much and are working just to get through the day, you deserve the covers of magazines, the spotlight in a news piece, or the focus of a written article. I can’t give it to you — just a small blogger who probably speaks her mind too much, but I wish I could.

4 Responses to "Autism Community: Equal Representation for All?"

I, too, have been excluded from media opportunities because I was “too moderate.” The reality is that media wants drama, and a child who is relatively high functioning, and a parent who is moderately interested in alternative approaches, rarely rises to the level of drama.

Now, if you had been hit by an earthquake while having tea with Mel Gibson….

IMO, in addition, it is much tougher to raise funds on the basis that your child is friendless than on the basis that your child is non-verbal and self-abusive. The reality is complex, and I’m not sure there’s an absolute measure for “what’s worse” – but if you’re trying to pull on heart strings, you’re looking for the most overwhelmingly difficult, painful, frightening situation to describe.

Lisa Rudy

It sure does seem to be that way — drama gets attention, sad as that is.

LOL, so true! Maybe I should secretly tape something and release it piece by piece…but that’s the kind of attention I don’t want!

I think that’s definitely part of the problem. An autistic child can be friendless, but verbal and still be self-abusive — mine is. It’s just not something that’s seen because these aren’t the kids you see on the TV, outside of maybe Dr. Phil, and then they just seem to be labeled ED. I guess I’ll stick to blogging to get the word out!

Thanks for replying, Lisa! I visit you at your autism pages and hope you drop by here when you can.

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by GraceBarkwell, Margie Wagner. Margie Wagner said: Autism Community: Equal Representation for All? « Autism Watch: 2007 http://ow.ly/2cmsD […]

Totaly agreed and I have been visiting related blogs and sites lately and i have to admit you have a nice design and content. I have bookmarked your page and hope to mention your post in my upcoming blog.
06:56

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

Twitter Updates

