Autism Watch: 2007

Traveling Dads and Broken Promises

Posted on: February 8, 2010

My husband’s in another phase of traveling for his job. I don’t mind — he’s got a good job and he does it well, and I have to admit I like sitting up in bed with the light on late, not having to make a real dinner, and pretty much just doing things however. But I do miss him, and so does BB. (For any new readers, BB is Barnacle Boy, a nickname from when little guy was so firmly attached to me due to our attachment parenting style, we called him the barnacle.) When he hears the door, I get “Daddy?” “No, Honey, remember? Daddy’s traveling. He’ll come home on Friday.”  “Oh.”

So we go about our regular business of computer games, snack, homework, more computer games, and dinner. Shower, flossing, teeth brushing and some TV. Nail trimming. Hair brushing. And what would regular be without some upset? Tonight’s came from me ridiculously (not) saying no to him playing some violent video game. (It turned out though that we don’t even own the game and you can’t play it on the computer, so that would have made it easier HAD I KNOWN THAT.)  The homework was shoved on the floor, pencil went flying, and the sobbing ensued. Crash. Bang. Boom. The sounds continued as he stumped up the stairs and into his room. I was able to fix it, as much as you can at that point, by promising to look at the game next time at the store, so I can see for myself if it is violent or not, instead of basing my decision on what a few people have told me. Sniff.

Now he’s snuggling into his bed. He insisted on sleeping in my room, in a little bed he made on the floor. And you know what THAT means. It means the dogs are sleeping in here, too. I wonder if I’ll make it through the night without waking up to the Yorkie on my pillow.

Not sure if it was a smart idea or not to agree, but his routine’s already out of whack, and for years, he’s slept in here when Dad’s traveling. Not sure which decision would be worse…..

And when we bought him the monthly package on Roblox, he promised us he wouldn’t throw fits over certain things. Ha. Gotta work on that one.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

Twitter Updates


