Autism Watch: 2007

IEP Success!

Posted on: February 4, 2010

I think no matter what your relationship with your school is like, an IEP still makes you sigh. I’m not sure if it’s the thought that parents of ‘normal’ kids don’t have to do this; maybe it’s the worry that some surprise will pop up. Or, maybe it’s just the exhaustion of having to deal with so much.

To be clear, our school admin is amazing. We don’t have to fight for things, they ‘get’ our son, and he’s in good hands. But, it’s still an IEP, and dh couldn’t come this time due to an off-site work thing. (Otherwise known as some work-related golf tournament. Really.) But, I wasn’ t worried, I knew there’d be no surprises or anything bad, and I don’t sign IEPs in the meeting anyway. You always need time to go home, review with a clear head, chew on it some, and draft any changes you may want. Or, you realize that after a day or so, you’re still comfortable with it and haven’t thought of anything that’s not on there, and you sign it. I guess that’s my biggest advice, being an IEP veteran now — don’t sign it there, don’t let them rush you, and take your time to be sure it’s all-inclusive so you’re not calling for another IEP right away.

The service dog is working out perfectly. We continue to see positive changes with the little guy, and the dog has melded with our family like he’s always been here. It also means that when I do Pilates, he thinks there’s something wrong, as I’m laying on the floor, and he stands there, leaning onto me and checking me out, intensely worried. Makes for an interesting Pilates session. (Then there’s the Yorkie, who seems me as available to pet, snuggle and lick since I’m defenseless.) Gotta love dogs.

Sad to hear about all the brouhaha with the Wakefield paper — I don’t agree, but I can’t focus my life on autism 24/7. I still block quite a bit on Facebook, it’s just too much. I do better getting away with it and dealing with it more on my terms. My son is such a success story, and I need to remember that and put him first instead of dealing with making change. Selfish, eh, I suppose someone could say so but I can live with that.

Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Twitter Updates


  • Emily: Thank you so much. I share your pain and am glad to know I'm not alone in my struggles with my very verbal autistic spectrum son.
  • Meet Julia, an Autistic Girl in a Sesame Street world | American Badass Activists: […] Apocalypse. That, or demonized in news and online rants, especially after a campus mass murder or a plane-halting meltdown . . . . So this b
  • Alecia: I'm an autistic young woman in the 7th grade. I have experienced exceedingly stupefied and unnecessary discrimination since elementary school. It is s
