Autism Watch: 2007

Where to Begin?

Posted on: November 4, 2009

Swine flu. It kicks your butt, and that of your entire family. No more than any other flu, and certainly not worth the vaccine, but nonetheless, it not only kicks your butt but it kicks it to the curb four houses down, into the gutter, through the sewer and out into the ocean 67 miles away. Four weeks later and I am still sporting a mild cough.

So there you have reason number one that I’ve not been blogging. My eyes were spinning at the end of the day, as I still worked during my bout (except for one day where even blinking and breathing was painful), and I was caring for Barnacle Boy, who scared us for a couple of days when the fever continued to hover around 103. Both the girls ended up with it, then the husband. Other son ended up with some cough and congestion last week, but that’s as far as it’s gotten. He’s oh so lucky.

I love Christmas. Why do I say that, you wonder? Because I love it more than Halloween..yet Halloween turns out to be this huge busy deal and before you know it, October’s gone and I’m wondering how to spend Veteran’s day with the kids who are out of school, yet I’m not because I have the Monday before off. Halloween this year consisted of two major parties, a few smaller events, and then the Trick or Treat Fest of the year at our house. We have this ginormous maze constructed in the front yard, from the curb I’d previously been kicked to through the yard, the driveway and out the side of the yard to the other street, complete with roaming monsters of the Freddie Krueger and zombie-type, scary movie music, and screaming … adults. A lot of the kids collected candy at the end of the driveway and backed away hoping Freddie didn’t see them.

Yet, I am <quietly> glad Halloween is over. I’m still tired. We went off-roading the weekend before Halloween and had, let’s just say, a little accident. Wear your seatbelts no matter how slow you are going, even if you are driving over a rut in a driveway. (No, that’s not what happened, I am just making a point. Heed my point, really.) Rollbars make nasty, ugly, sore and painful indentations on your eyeballs, eyelids, cheekbones, foreheads and noses. Trust me on this. Once you get the blood out of your clothes (and the off-road vehicle’s seats), you will not want it there again. I’m still sporting a crescent under the eye and eyeshadow is one of those things I have to really, really consider before I apply.

This past weekend was another huge Halloween party, this time adults only. (Unless you count the 20-somethings…my two oldest kids and their friends…who crashed it around 11:30pm just to see why Mom and Dad looked forward to the party all year.) Good thing my costume came with sunglasses to cover most of the bruise. I was Trinity, and husband was Neo. We were simply awesome.

So, how is Barnacle Boy doing after all this? Well, a few days before Halloween, he had to have an emergency baby root canal. (This was the, hmmm, 4th, I think?) He was not happy. Dh met me at the dentist and said he did great in the procedure. I drove him home, with him being the quietest (and creepiest) I’ve ever seen him while awake. He went to school the next day and recuperated impressively fast. Then the week got more and more chaotic during pumpkin hunting, then carving, cookie decorating and guests. Come Monday night, he was DONE. We got through the evening of clean-up and declared yesterday and today guest-free days. The cell phones were turned down and tv choices were BB’s. I even made a mad rush to Target to get Stratego, the game he had to have after playing it the last night of his two-year program he completed last week. (WAY TO GO, DUDE.) He came home from school, opened it, and declared it THE WRONG STRATEGO. (There really is one Stratego though. I know this because I researched it.) Pieces went flying, mad words were said (by him…not me…I stood there in amazement thinking “Don’t ruin The Wrong Stratego, I can return it!”) and an hour later, he was calmly eating an Oreo as we prepared to leave for his parent-teacher conference, where we proudly learned he’s academically more than a grade ahead but in need of more help for social skills, classroom participation and appropriate conversation. Always something, right?

That’s pretty much a uber-fast version of the last month and I know I’ve left things out, but I guess I need something else to blog about on a slow day in the future, yes? I know it will happen, and the fact I’ve admitted that is step 1 in my Blogger Improvement program. Admitting you have a problem is key. I admit it. My name is Dee and I am not the best blogger lately.

But that will change. With autism, there’s always something to whine about, complain about, or just sigh about. And with an awesome beautiful kid, there’s always things to brag about, be proud of, and happily share. I just need to find the time.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

Twitter Updates

