Autism Watch: 2007

Sometimes, it isn’t as bad as you think!

Posted on: August 6, 2009

Well, after learning that our lovely (choke, gag) state can no longer afford to pay for social help for autistic kids, I listened to BB worry about visiting school this morning to meet his new teacher. I’ve been hesitant about starting a new year — not because of the teacher, but because of the things we can’t control, like the kids he’s going to be around. But, the teacher visit went really well, so I’m feeling as positive as I can about the whole routine…the getting up early, the rush to get out on time (which only occurs at the last minute, no matter how far ahead we plan and how many times I remind him he has two minutes till toothbrushing time), the “I don’t want to go! Can I stay home?” pleas, the tedium of making a lunch he’ll eat.

His teacher seems like an excellent fit, and I think he’ll do well. I have a good feeling. And I like to be reminded that sometimes, things really do turn out better than you think!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

Twitter Updates

