Autism Watch: 2007

Cryin’ In My Coat

Posted on: August 5, 2009

So it’s not cryin’ in his beer, but it was pretty sad to see nonetheless. And it was actually his dad’s coat.

As I shared earlier this week, daddy’s on a business trip out-of-state. I wasn’t sure how much BB thought about it, but last night, at bath time, he saw daddy’s Nascar jacket hanging in his closet. I thought he was kidding when he grabbed it and stuck his head inside, but within two seconds, I realized how very seriously sad he was. The sobs were soaking the jacket and I had to pull him away for a mommy cuddle, and a promise that he could email daddy when he was out of the tub. Twenty minutes later, he was writing daddy the cutest little (or not so little) email you’ve ever seen. I know it made dh’s morning to see when he woke up today, three hours ahead of us. When he called BB to talk to him this evening, BB hesitated for a sec, then when he realized it was really him, the DADDY!! was probably heard all the way in PA even without the phone. Too cute and worlds apart from where he was when daddy was traveling a couple of years ago, or even last year.

Today he had a good day. He was a bit mouthy and controlling, but that’s easy compared to some things we’ve dealt with. We made cookies, had a really good dinner of salmon and leftover knish, and then settled down to watch an episode of  The Othersiders. If you haven’t watched this show, beware — it’s a kid show, done by teens, but is pretty creepy! But, it was a good excuse to cuddle. BB made us a ‘bed’ of pillows and blankies on the couch, and he ate some chocolate while we held our breaths to see what the investigators found. (Is it bad to say I was glad when the show was over? Did I mention it was creepy?) Now we’re snuggled watching All Dogs Go To Heaven 2 on Video on Demand, a favorite benefit of our new-ish U-verse TV provider. (Dare I say we’re entirely thrilled we can finally record on any/all TVs instead of just the ‘brain’ unit downstairs?) He’s playing DS, and I’m on the laptop, so I’m not sure how much we’re watching, but we’re enjoying co-existing. He smells like vanilla sugar, courtesy of the Bath & Body Works shower gel I let him use in his epsom salts bath, and I’m thoroughly enjoying this nighttime routine.

Tomorrow morning, we meet The Teacher. I’ve heard only good things about her, so I have high hopes it will go well. I’m hoping to give her the Top 20 Things About BB list, verbally, inside the 20 minutes we have. One per minute, I guess.

Friday’s Mommy and Me day — I have half-day Fridays (but a spacebar that isn’t working completely) — so we are going bowling. First time together, first time for me in many years, and first time for him at all. It’s just him and I and our $1.29 per game coupon…and I don’t know how to score. Are bowling lanes automated yet??

Enjoy what’s left of your summer before school starts. Ours went way too quick.

2 Responses to "Cryin’ In My Coat"

Bowling lanes are automated…Hallejah. Just hopefully the one you go too is :).

It’s cute how much he loves his daddy.

This is a great post -how beautiful. I’m new on writing articles about ASD, but I feel such a calling with these kids and adults. They’ve impacted my life in such an amazing way and taught me so much. Your note to me spurned me to write a post about ASD and our Christian response.
Thanks,
Pepper
http://www.pepperbasham.webs.com
pepperbasham@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

Twitter Updates

