Autism Watch: 2007

What’s Going On?

Posted on: April 3, 2009

I whined yesterday about all the things going on, but once just isn’t enough. Be warned.

Awards event at school yesterday, and ds was unnecessarily upset (not his own fault, imo) by a technicality. Sometimes I really wish people would understand how important these things are to ASD kids. Little upsets that just aren’t worth the fight can ruin an entire afternoon. And this did. I’ll leave it at that, but I just want to be like other parents, go and watch something and have a smiley child who is enjoying himself. Heck, I’ll forego the smile, I just want him to enjoy himself.

With no respite last night, I had to tote him along with me to Borders. He didn’t want to go, but the bribe of a chocolate chip cookie was too strong to ignore. But..and this shouldn’t surprise me, given how our week is gone..Seattle’s Best was out of chocolate chip. They had some delicious looking other flavors, but no chip. Oh no, he’s getting anxious. Oh look, a bakery next door. Run across the street, find the cookie. Crisis averted. We find Jenny’s latest book on the “new” shelf, pay the cashier (feeling the ridiculously increased tax hike for the first time and nearly cry…if I feel it on a book, what about when I shop for clothes for the kids or order his new supplements??) and enjoy my non-fat Blackberry Cream Latte. The little things in life. I was trying to keep ds calm about his cookie, then realized: would I be upset if I couldn’t get a coffee right then? Probably.

I am exhausted. I am so thankful it’s Friday. I’m not sure if the weekend will be a relaxing one, it’s too early to tell — as in, I don’t know until five minutes beforehand, and sometimes not even then — but at least I won’t be throwing work into the mix. I’ve been working earlier most days anymore, so I can be sure to put in my time around any issues with ds. It’s do-able, but when you dream of being chased by scary dogs, when ds isn’t coming into your room due to another nightmare, sleep is fragmented.

Today we’re going back to Kirkman’s chewable multi-vite. Ds isn’t currently GFCF so it’s fine. We saw the biggest improvement on it, but he hates the taste. I am not a walking checkbook, so I’d like to get him to use this bottle before I switch to a liquid or other version of it. I’m also starting him on double S. boulardii, a good probiotic to combat the yeast that’s probably built back up in his system. We did an anti-yeast protocol around 18-20 months ago and it was fantastic but it can return so it’s a good time to try again.

And, because it’s fun, ds is home from school again. Okay, it’s not really fun but you gotta laugh to get through the neverending stuff or you’ll go crazy. He woke up at 5:40am and said his leg is burning. No swelling, joint is fine, but it hurts to touch. What now? He’s near tears, and when he’s not looking, we tested it by touching the leg. OUCH!! So, a new symptom added to the mix. We’ve decided that it’s time to go back to no dietary infractions: all homecooked/homebaked stuff and no dyes. (Dad bought him Fruit Gushers earlier this week, which to me is just a big package of HFCS and dye, but Dad was giving in to a sweet boy who’d already had a lot of stuff going on and really wanted to try the gushers. Who knew.) He also had a couple of processed foods, like pizza pockets. Yanking those out of the diet too. He was already acting odd/off by then, with the lip licker’s dermatitis and headaches, so at least we can’t blame those on bad food, we really are careful with his diet. But this leg thing has thrown me for a loop.

It’s a rainy day here, so I’ll be getting the fireplace going shortly and will make it a snuggle & cuddle day. We got AT&T U-verse installed, so he can watch anything he records on any tv, and he’s got his own tv in his room. Well-worth the cost. (And the money we’re saving over our prior services is a good thing, too. TV, phone and high-speed internet together is way cheaper.)

Enjoy the weekend. Not sure if I’ll be blogging or not. I do have to say I’m disappointed I saw so little about World Autism Awareness Day, other than some online mentions in the appropriate autism-related places/communities. Nothing on TV or on the news. I guess it’s less important than what the latest loser celebrity is doing or other ridiculous news stories I did see on. Shows you where our priorities lie.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Twitter Updates


  • Emily: Thank you so much. I share your pain and am glad to know I'm not alone in my struggles with my very verbal autistic spectrum son.
  • Meet Julia, an Autistic Girl in a Sesame Street world | American Badass Activists: […] Apocalypse. That, or demonized in news and online rants, especially after a campus mass murder or a plane-halting meltdown . . . . So this b
  • Alecia: I'm an autistic young woman in the 7th grade. I have experienced exceedingly stupefied and unnecessary discrimination since elementary school. It is s
