Autism Watch: 2007

Birthday Party: Waiting on RSVPs

Posted on: December 1, 2008

This coming weekend is barnacle boy’s 8th birthday. For the first time in, hmmm, ever (?), he wants to have a party outside of the house. This means we don’t have to order a bouncer, buy and prep a ton of food, and find a decorating theme. No online orders for obscure characters. No plugging in heaters and coffee pots in the garage so the adults can stay warm while their kids jump in the bouncer. And, no looking for rain or wind that will mean we have to go to Plan B, games and tattoos and face-painting inside.

It also means we get to put the camera, a guest list, and a cake and its trimmings into the car and head off to the party. (We celebrate his birthday separately as a family on the actual day.) Piece of cake, eh?

In theory, yes. But, around 10-11 days ago, ds invited approx. 12 children. We’ve heard from two. They are both (thankfully) coming. We’ve got room for 18, and I paid for 12 regardless. I complain about this every year, the downfall of the habit of RSVP’ing. And, bigger still, the worry that ds won’t have many kids at his party.

I hope the lack of RSVPs is just that, the lack of RSVPs. There’s still a few days before the party, and the thing I want the most is for the invited kids, or at least most of them, to show up, RSVP or not.

And, that quickly, I think we’re at three!

Parties are bittersweet — I want them 100% happy, but we have to worry about people attending, and then ds not having a hard time with something. This party’s been carefully constructed though, with lots of activities, food, and a schedule that will keep them moving. And we parents? Pizza galore. When it comes to party food, what could be better? Oh wait, the fact I don’t have to clean up the party food.

Bring on the party. We’re ready.

1 Response to "Birthday Party: Waiting on RSVPs"

It’s MY pet peeve!! I’ve been bitchin’ about this problem forever! And I make it worse for myself because I throw a lot of other little parties during the year in addition to the 2 kids’ birthday parties. Things like Halloween parties, Christmas cookie bake parties, mother-daughter tea parties…

I always call the losers who don’t respond. I need an answer. I need to prepare myself and my son for who and what to expect. And here in NY we have the added ridiculous tradition of the hostess giving out goody bags to each attendee. So, I need to be sure to have enough. For bowling parties, I need to divide up the teams in advance. For swimming parties, I need to hire enough lifeguards. And so on…

I admire your grace in being able to just show up and run with it.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

Twitter Updates

