Autism Watch: 2007

More political talk? Really?

Posted on: November 4, 2008

I’m not anti-voting, anti-politics, or God forbid someone really go out on a limb, anti-American. I am, however, anti-ruin-everything-with-politically-‘i-am-right-and-you-are-wrong-if-you’re-voting-different-than-me’ speech. I understand politics are important, but does that mean they need to be pervasive? Do they need to be not only on message boards, news shows, blogs and email lists, but in a discussion about my son’s health, my checkout at the grocery store, or the conversation with the bug guy about what type of spray to use on persistent ants?

I voted this morning. Bright and early. Dh and I spent quite a while going over the propositions and candidates, and then I did it again with my older kids. Yawn. I have my political leanings, most definitely, but they aren’t my life. Sure, the outcome of this election will affect my life, and probably in a big way,  but not only do I not think it can get any worse than the last eight years, I also still have to deal with my son’s major meltdowns this past two weeks, a possible medication increase, and figure out what dinner I can make that he’ll actually eat. So, the election is important but it’s not everything.

Election garbage is everywhere. You can’t visit an autism list or a recipe list or a scrapbooking group without the “Tsk tsk, you should vote for xxx” posts. It’s as though people think that they are THE only educated person in the bunch, and THE only person who has received The Enlightenment that will enable them to make the perfect choice. To everyone with a political opinion: great, good for you. We all have one. It wouldn’t be a democracy if we all felt the same, or had to. Get a grip. Tolerance doesn’t apply just to being tolerant of other lifestyles, but being tolerant of those who disagree and letting them be. Keywords: let them be.

One thing that concerns me is the amount of people looking to vote a presidential team in because of their views on autism and/or vaccines. While I definitely want a candidate who does believe autism is a priority and vaccines need a re-do, but it’s not my major concern. My wallet is. The economy has tanked, and we’re all paying the price. If we don’t get a handle on that first, no one will be able to afford medical treatments, insurance, vaccines, or any of that anyway. It all starts with financial comfort or at least security of sorts, and everything else comes next. And that’s my thoughts — you won’t find me on any public place sharing my feelings, but since this is MY blog, I’ll take this one chance to say it all. If someone’s voting based on autism alone, they may be sorely disappointed. And if that’s not letting autism lead our lives, something everyone says is the kiss of death, what is?

2 Responses to "More political talk? Really?"

First, congrats on the end of “crap week” and on getting out to vote at all…much less bright and early. At least you didn’t have to endure the long awkward silences on the other end of phone conversations all day yesterday (like I did) because I hadn’t gotten out to vote yet. Um, how ’bout coming over to watch my son so I can go out then, if its so freakin important to you that I vote right now? There’s a reason the polls were open til 9pm here…me, the last one who voted. I had a million other things to do that were at least, if not more, important than voting yesterday. Like starting my son on HBOT.

I also agree that it shouldn’t be a one-issue election. At least not the special needs issue, but I am hopeful that the president and the VP, and the senator and the governor will all follow through on their promises.

Finally, a “non-toxic” remedy for some ants is aspartame. I’ve heard that its chemical composition is, like, one molecule off from rat poison or something like that… but of course, it’s approved as a safe artifical sweetener for humans!

Also…and I am not a doctor…but my son’s chiropractor/naturopath recommended a flower essence called Elm for his anxiety issues and he is noticeably calmer and more compliant since he’s been on it. (I wouldn’t recommend doing anything without a doctor’s ok, of course, and only offer this potential option because you “sound” reluctant to increase meds, so it just an FYI…I never tell people what to do …or how to vote!)

First off I want to say that Im really upset that this blog was posted on my birthday and I didnt get to see it on my birthday! 🙂
I most definitely agree with a lot of people in here, throwing differnet views, different discussions. THIS IS WHAT I LIVE FOR!
:o)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Twitter Updates


  • Emily: Thank you so much. I share your pain and am glad to know I'm not alone in my struggles with my very verbal autistic spectrum son.
  • Meet Julia, an Autistic Girl in a Sesame Street world | American Badass Activists: […] Apocalypse. That, or demonized in news and online rants, especially after a campus mass murder or a plane-halting meltdown . . . . So this b
  • Alecia: I'm an autistic young woman in the 7th grade. I have experienced exceedingly stupefied and unnecessary discrimination since elementary school. It is s
