Autism Watch: 2007

I Am Barnacle Boy, and I Will Control Your Mind

Posted on: November 4, 2008

Okay, so he doesn’t really say that to me in those words exactly, but I know he’s thinking it.

I’ve explained Crap Week in a prior post, probably a couple of times (crap is pervasive and insidious) and thankfully, I think it’s improved. In all things but ds. We’re considering a medication increase — not something I would just randomly share with people, but his behavior, with aggression, temper tantrums, self-injuries, lashing out at others, refusing to listen, being outright defiant, it’s just over the top. He’s only on a ‘baby’ dose but he’s put on 8 pounds since he started the meds and I guess it’s time. Behavioral therapy helps, but I can’t have him marking himself like he’s been doing.

Every time I turn around, he’s telling me what to do, correcting what I do, and telling me what I’m doing wrong. And yelling. Yelling a lot. He wakes up in the morning and starts. It happens as he’s going to bed. Did I mention he yells?

Autism is a nasty monster. My son is a sweet boy. Mix the two — a sweet boy with some monster behaviors, and we’re working on our ‘what next?’ list. It’s a 24/7 battle for him to listen and do what he should. It makes for long days. I guess there’s a good thing in this: I am exhausted and sleep better. Always a silver lining, right? 😉

1 Response to "I Am Barnacle Boy, and I Will Control Your Mind"

I don’t know…it appears that sometimes silver linings are overrated. 😉

I hope you get his meds sorted out and that he calms down for you. Poor guy is probably frustrated with everything. Poor you having to deal with a kid who’s frustrated with everything.

Keep us posted.

Kia (Good Enough Mama)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Twitter Updates


  • Emily: Thank you so much. I share your pain and am glad to know I'm not alone in my struggles with my very verbal autistic spectrum son.
  • Meet Julia, an Autistic Girl in a Sesame Street world | American Badass Activists: […] Apocalypse. That, or demonized in news and online rants, especially after a campus mass murder or a plane-halting meltdown . . . . So this b
  • Alecia: I'm an autistic young woman in the 7th grade. I have experienced exceedingly stupefied and unnecessary discrimination since elementary school. It is s
