Autism Watch: 2007

Taking Off the Blinders

Posted on: October 1, 2008

Wow, has it hit the fan this week! I can’t think of a more politically correct way to say it that wouldn’t make me censor my own blog. Jenny McCarthy’s hitting a nerve, and as we all know, words are like peroxide — you can pour it all over your body, but it will only sting where there’s an open wound. You can call me fatty or smelly or stupid, but it’ll only bother me if I am fat, if I smell, or if I am indeed stupid. So when Jenny is out there saying that we want safer vaccines and people are getting mad, I have to wonder, why?

Safe vaccines. There, I said it. It’s really simple. There’s no ‘anti-‘ in that — there’s simply the word safe. Why is that so hard to understand? Why fight it?

Let’s make up a scenario. We have a baby, we begin injecting it with toxins (such as aluminium over 10x the recommended safe amount for a newborn) in the first few days after birth, and proceed to give it another 30 or so vaccines by the age of two. We don’t do any tests to see if the child’s got a weakened immune system and could get sick from any ingredients in the vaccines, we just figure we’ll prevent our child from measles, mumps, chicken pox, etc. Our doctor says it could happen, so it must be true! Then a couple of years later, we wonder why our child’s losing speech, constantly having rashes or diarrhea, and is banging his head on the floor while pulling out his eyelashes and screaming when you move his line of toys or screeching when you turn on your overhead fluorescent light. Oh, wait, that’s not a scenario, that’s real. Let me do the fake scenario.

So here goes, the futuristic scenario: people open their eyes and realize that even if there really is not 100% guarantee that autism is caused by vaccines, having safer vaccines can’t hurt. Formaldehyde, ether, aluminum, thimerasol, and aborted fetal tissue is removed from the vaccines and, sit down, the VACCINES STILL WORK.  These vaccines continue to decrease the risk their child will get a fever from chicken pox or itchy from the measles, and decrease the risk that polio will return. One thing that may happen is that the insurance companies or the parent may pay more of a co-pay towards the vaccine. Or, here’s the shocker, major pharmaceutical companies, one of the most profitable yet protected (immune, ironically, if you’ll pardon the pun) industries in the world, may make a few dollars less. But the big change? The risks related to these vaccines — the numbers printed on the inserts of vaccines, that every parent should be reading already — will decrease. Less children will be suffering seizures, swelling, infections, dying. Pretty significant, wouldn’t you think?

Those of us who are “Jenny Followers” do so proudly. She’s saying what we’ve wanted to say for years but we just aren’t celebrity enough to get the attention. She’s spent weeks with doctors and renowned scientists learning facts about vaccines, illnesses, autism, diet, nutrition, etc. She’s simply the messenger. (In fact, I’d venture to say that Amanda Peet, the “other” side of the current argumental coin, is just a messenger, too…but she volunteered for the role, whereas Jenny was thrust into it by her son’s autism. Jenny’s lived the life, Amanda’s learning it secondhand. Jenny’s been doing it for a while, Amanda’s brand new. So before I hear another person spout off “why are you listening to Jenny?” I want to know why they’re listening to Amanda Peet? She knows about as much about vaccines as any first time mother of a baby. Big deal.) I don’t care if Jenny was a nude juggler in a Martian circus act and speaks in gibberish. If she can get a point across, great. Pretty narrow-minded to think people are only worth listening to if they’ve got a medical degree.

Even if you don’t feel autism is related to vaccines, I honestly don’t care. I’m already neck-deep in autism and its side-effects, so I don’t expect you to understand. I’ve got friends that can’t even find two minutes to ask me how my son is doing, so I can live with a stranger who has a different opinion. But think about it, really think about it. If vaccines can be made without toxins, and the diseases are still prevented, WHY NOT? We want vaccines — we just want our child or your future child or grandchild or Godchild or friend’s child or niece or nephew to just not be the acceptable collateral damage that there are so many of today.

And essentially, that’s what my son is when you look at numbers and say “my son’s not autistic, and he was vaccinated.” Better me than you, right? Maybe my son has a weak immune system, or maybe he was genetically predisposed to autism in some other way, and maybe vaccines didn’t have anything to do with it, but why take the risk? No studies have ever been done, ever, to test the full load of all the current vaccines on small children. (Why? Who wants their child to be that guinea pig?)

Lastly, if that can be a real word for just now — don’t blame unvaccinated children for your illness. If your vaccine worked, you wouldn’t have any worries. Unvaccinated people are only at risk themselves if the vaccines really work. And truly, measles is a walk in the park compared to severe autism.

Don’t let the point of this latest issue on CNN and everywhere else be lost because you’re choosing between Jenny or Amanda or because you’re hung up on their lack of credentials or scientific proof. We all know formaldehyde, ether, aluminum, and other things aren’t in food or any other thing around your body (or your dog’s) because it’s not safe. So why does it belong in a vaccine? It doesn’t. Safe vaccines with a safe schedule harms NO ONE. That’s the point. Safe vaccines. If you remember nothing else in this fiasco, remember those two words: safe vaccines. That’s all we want.

2 Responses to "Taking Off the Blinders"

This makes me go hhhmmm…. You’ve raised a lot of interesting points.

Could’ve wrote this myself. I feel exactly the same way! Thanks for stopping by my blog so I could find yours. I’m also a Jenny fan. I love that she goes out of the gate fighting for all of us moms. We can’t all be crazy! I notice you link to EnzymesStuff. I just started adding enzymes to my son’s long list of supplements. Have you had luck with them? I’m keeping him on the diet, but was thinking these could maybe help a little more. Glad to connect with another mom who’s passionate about getting to the bottom of this autism crisis too!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

Twitter Updates

