Autism Watch: 2007

Vaccines are worth the risk?

Posted on: June 9, 2008

Lately, in the firestorm of arguments about mercury contributing to vaccine, new vaccines being put on the schedule, states considering making vaccines mandatory, I’m seeing pro-vaccine parents becoming more and more vocal. So many thoughts on that, where to start. I undoubtedly will muddle my words and my thoughts, but here goes.

I often hear pro-vaccine parents saying that the risks of the vaccines are worth it, to protect their children from diseases. But what about that 1 in 150 children who IS the child who has the side-effect? As long as that 1 child in 150 vastly affected by the vaccines is not their own child, the risk is worth it? Does that make my child’s autism acceptable damage? Who is anyone to make that choice for someone else?

If someone wants to vaccinate, why the need to persuade the rest of us to do so? Why not just vaccinate without the need to defend it? We’re not taking your vaccines away. Those who us who don’t want to vaccinate have the number one goal of making vaccines safer and not injecting toxins into our children, not tell pro-vaccine parents what to do. Such a glaring difference between the sides.

I’ve heard the words ‘collateral damage’ a lot lately in regards to the children who are affected by vaccines. When is damaging any child, any human, in the name of saving others acceptable? Shouldn’t we be aiming for no collateral damage, instead of accepting the numbers and being glad it’s someone else’s child? If we know that we can make vaccines without the garbage that’s toxic, why isn’t that a priority? Is your money better spent on Starbucks than paying a few more dollars for a safer version of a vaccine?

Greening our vaccines is a goal that will help all of us. No child/human should be injected with formaldehyde, ether, antifreeze, mercury, or anything else that’s toxic. If a product can’t be in our food, in our makeup, or in pet vaccines, should it be in a vaccine? Greening our vaccines will still give all the pro-vaccine parents the choice to vaccinate. Nothing we ‘green vaccine’ parents wants is going to hurt anyone else, yet the potential for harm if the vaccines aren’t changed is vast and WILL hurt people. It HAS hurt people. It’s CONTINUING to hurt people.

Pro-vaccine parents need to understand that those of us who don’t want to vaccinate with the current vaccines are not anti-vaccine. We are pro-SAFE-vaccine. There is a huge difference between the two. HUGE. We want to continue to eradicate disease; we want to keep people safe and healthy; we want to offer immunity (as much as is possible) from diseases that could maim and kill. We don’t want our children to be collateral damage to that cause. Our children didn’t sign up to be the poster children for vaccines so the collective “we” can say “Yeah, but at least less people have measles this year. Phew, glad my child dodged the autism bullet.”

Everyone needs to realize that any time they give their child a vaccine, they are potentially going to cause their child to be THE one in 150 who will get autism or some other illness. Not all our children are genetically pre-disposed to have that happen, but it’s like playing Russian Roulette. Who knows if their child will be THE one? Is it worth that risk? Those who usually say it is don’t have a child with seizures, or with autism, or with some other illness/injury that has negatively impacted their life, and may never go away. Things change, irreversibly, when your child isn’t potty-trained, bites himself, can’t talk, has to wear headphones to leave the house…the list goes on.

My favorite comment of all: “Unvaccinated children put mine <vaccinated children> at risk.” Hmmm, this one’s so easy, I really don’t get why people still say that anymore. IF vaccines worked, why would an unvaccinated child be of any risk to a vaccinated person? Yeah, I know, I puzzle over that, too.

Pro-vaccine parents often say ‘but there’s no definitive proof it causes autism.’ Newsflash, there is definitive proof that mercury is unhealthy. There is definitive proof that ether, formaldehyde, and antifreeze are unhealthy. The bottom line is, even if these things don’t cause autism on their own, they have no place in vaccines. If mercury is not safe in fish…in mascara…in pet vaccines…it is not safe in a flu shot. The fact remains that the autism rates have risen exponentially, and so have the number of ‘mandatory’ vaccines. It doesn’t take a genius to say that it deserves further consideration. Studies done 10 years ago don’t relate to today, as today’s world, the generation of children born in 1999-2001, the children who got 500x the number of mercury deemed safe for a 300 lb adult, who are newly diagnosed, or not yet diagnosed got a lot more shots than when studies were done. And the list is continuing to grow if agencies have their way.

We want a cleaner environment. We use less-toxic cleaning products in our home, vehicles with less emissions, we recycle and do any number of other things to green our homes and conserve the environment. Our children, born/unborn, diagnosed/undiagnosed, deserve no less. If you shop for anything safer for your home, your car, your life, why not consider greener/safer vaccines? And if not, don’t bash my choice. Just don’t imply my child is acceptable collateral damage. There is no such thing.

3 Responses to "Vaccines are worth the risk?"

I have a nine year old boy with Austism and though some people may say he is “Recovered” the Austism is well and truley still very much “there”.

I chose not to immunise my second child as she was born around the time he was being diagnosed..

He had a huge amount of language and was as Neurotypical as you could wish when almost overnight at the 18month mark he lost all language and every other skill he had just about ever learnt.

He became the “changeling” child.

Now what is really bizarre how people are so fantatical about Natural remedies, green/organic everything…what about the huge obsession with mineral and organic makeup.

I have my own range of cosmetics and it is amazing the amount of people who now only want “chemical/preservative free cosmetics” as they dont want this on their skin…YET…they seem to think it is ok to inject nasties into their newborn babies immature immune system and think nothing of it…I am sorry but i just dont get it??

Thats my rant….great job on the blog 🙂

I think you’re right…it’s important that all toxins are removed from vaccines, whether one chooses to vaccinate their child or not. I vaccinated all 3 of mine, but I do believe parents should research the topic and decide if they want to do it and if they want to break the vaccines up. Although I don’t believe the research is definitive that autism is caused by vaccines, I do believe it is possible there is a link between the two or that autism could be triggered by something in the vaccinations. There is a great debate about the possible link between autism and vaccines at http://www.opposingviews.com/questions/are-autism-and-vaccines-linked. Experts from both sides debate the issue and provide rebuttals to the other side’s arguments. A really interesting read with lots of good information. Thanks for your post!

I do believe that all shots are harmful to every single human being out there. I wish I would have known what I do now before my older two had their shots. Thankfully those “helpful” shots didn’t effect my oldest. However, we have been told that my second son has a severe case of ADHD or a mild case of Autism. They are not sure yet. I am thankful that he was only affected in the little way that he was, because I know that it could have been SO much worse- my heart goes out to the Mothers/parents who were not as lucky as my family was. 😦
I will say that I noticed a BIG difference in my second son’s speech right after he had his 15-18 month shots. I didn’t think to much of it until I read about the link between shots and certain problems in children after having them. I have researched this for about 3 months and I’m sure that I will continue to research this topic. From here on out, my children will not have ANY more shots. I am expecting my third child and that one will not have ANY at all.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

Twitter Updates

