Autism Watch: 2007

I Frew the Boat in the Trash, Mom

Posted on: April 14, 2008

Dh and I took a weekend away this past weekend. We went to see the Nascar race in Phoenix, and left the kids at home. (We have two older teenage kids, 19 and 18, who were able to work opposing work schedules so there was always someone at home.) They got to order pizza (so much for a dairy-free dinner) and watched The Last Mimsy. Friends came over daily, and meltdowns were at a minimum…without school and errands to go on, he was happy…unless you count an incident at church where someone still doesn’t really get that him hiding under the table is not a discipline issue and shouldn’t result in discipline.

Anyway, a successful weekend. Dh and I had enjoyed a huge full-all-day breakfast at Cracker Barrel on Sunday morning, first time there ever, and we spent a good 30 minutes shopping their old country store for candy and toys from ‘the good ole days.’ $60 lighter, but pounds heavier in toys and candy, we toted in the huge bag and handed out the goodies to the kids. Cheers! Ds decided he wanted to take a bath so he could try out his new balloon-propelled wooden boat. Sounds great, right? He loved the way it jetted around the water and giggled when it ran into him. I stepped away, dh close by the tub, only to hear “Are you okay? What happened??” accompanied by a gagging sound. Apparently when you blow into the tube on the boat, you can get a few remnants of the wood taste in the tube. Odd taste/odd texture/funny taste in mouth=disaster. He didn’t like the ‘stupid’ toy anymore, and he was really mad at it. Okay, you don’t have to play with it. He got out of the bath where the offending toy was, jammied up, and five minutes later, he found me downstairs long enough to tell me “I frew the boat in the trash, Mom.” Then he calmly walks away.

Anyone want a very gently used balloon-propelled boat? I promise, it really doesn’t taste that bad.

4 Responses to "I Frew the Boat in the Trash, Mom"

I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

Stacey Derbinshire

[…] Get more information here […]

[…] tips@videogum.com wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptHe got out of the bath where the offending toy was, jammied up, and five minutes later, he found me downstairs long enough to tell me “I frew the boat in the trash, Mom.” Then he calmly walks away. … […]

Once you have Cracker Barrel and then are no longer close to it, its all you can think about. There is one close to my parents and they take us often. The kids know they can always talk Grandma into a new toy or gadget.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


  • Emily: Thank you so much. I share your pain and am glad to know I'm not alone in my struggles with my very verbal autistic spectrum son.
  • Meet Julia, an Autistic Girl in a Sesame Street world | American Badass Activists: […] Apocalypse. That, or demonized in news and online rants, especially after a campus mass murder or a plane-halting meltdown . . . . So this b
  • Alecia: I'm an autistic young woman in the 7th grade. I have experienced exceedingly stupefied and unnecessary discrimination since elementary school. It is s
