Autism Watch: 2007

Beautiful laughter, then sobbing tears

Posted on: April 11, 2008

This morning was a good one — planned out, scheduled well, in his routine, and he did everything without argument. Then we get to school.

Two of his best friends run up to the meet him at the gate. Not sure who was more excited about that, him or me. I breathe a huge sigh of relief and am darn near tear-y when I see this happen. They play, they wrestle, they run…and he laughs. Ahhhh, I love that sound.

Bell rings. Line up time. A little girl is a bit pushy with him on something, and he calls her a brat. Red flag goes up. I wait until the line goes into the school, and things look okay. I won’t be here when he gets home today, so I remind him and get a hug and kiss. (I know, I know, in the classroom is a no-no…”Mom, the kids will see!”) He walks back to his desk, and then it starts. “My water bottle is gone! The darn cunstodians threw it away AGAIN.” He proceeds to run out the door, I catch him, hold him, he sobs. His little body shakes because he’s so sad he doesn’t have a water bottle now. And bear in mind, it’s a generic Costco water bottle, nothing that I don’t have 50 more of in the fridge. The teacher comes out, coaxes him in and shows him that it is indeed there on the desk, just pushed over onto the girl’s side next to him. Phew. I see relief, I feel the tension go…but not completely. But I had to go, it’s the teacher’s territory and I don’t want to impede routine, and I think he’ll calm down better with me gone. That doesn’t make leaving him that way any easier though.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

Twitter Updates

