Autism Watch: 2007

And April Marches On

Posted on: April 9, 2008

It’s been a week since I wrote about my discouragement with promotion of Autism Awareness Month. I wish I could say I felt a ton better about it, but I am afraid that the momentum will slow as we get further into April.

I did find a few interesting things on autism to share:

What Do You Know About Autism?  (Seattle Post Intelligence) A quiz for those unaffected by autism, short but sweet.

Family of Autistic Boy Battle Over Service Animal  (The Pittsburgh Channel)

This is a school that ought to be ashamed of itself. ADA, anyone?  

Tulsa World: House committee rejects bill to provide health coverage for autistic children   Do you ever wonder about people? Why money is more important than caring for autism? Why isn’t this discrimination?

That’s it for now – my little one’s been raging since yesterday morning, and is upstairs sobbing hysterically now, in his bed, his ‘cave,’ his safe place. Not sure yet what’s got him so out of sorts but we’re working on figuring it out. Just getting him home from school took 15 minutes, while he found his backpack, then his headphones, and we avoided the crying at school at least. Now? Who knows, but we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Twitter Updates


  • Emily: Thank you so much. I share your pain and am glad to know I'm not alone in my struggles with my very verbal autistic spectrum son.
  • Meet Julia, an Autistic Girl in a Sesame Street world | American Badass Activists: […] Apocalypse. That, or demonized in news and online rants, especially after a campus mass murder or a plane-halting meltdown . . . . So this b
  • Alecia: I'm an autistic young woman in the 7th grade. I have experienced exceedingly stupefied and unnecessary discrimination since elementary school. It is s
