Autism Watch: 2007

World Autism Day: Miracles Abound

Posted on: April 2, 2008

I was cruising around the net this morning for news of activities in honor of World Autism Day, and found an article that I was sure had to be an April Fool’s day prank. (In fact, the timing of it still makes me wonder, even though it’s purported to be serious.) If you haven’t yet visited AAP’s site, and proclamation that they have met with DAN! representatives to understand Defeat Autism Now treatments and interventions better, it may just be the best thing you read any time soon. Oh, and they also recognize World Autism Day.

CNN has special broadcasting all day today. I’m watching now and unless Bernanke’s economics speech has something to do with autism, I guess it’s not a marathon of autism segments, but I’m not changing the channel. (And I actually learned something that I probably wouldn’t have cared about much before, until I try to sell my home or fill up my gas tank.) On CNN’s home page, you’ll find a link to Autism: Unraveling the Mystery, quite an inclusive list of videos and news articles about autism and those it effects. It showcases adults with autism, parents of autistic children, doctors, vaccine controversy, Jenny McCarthy..and the list goes on. Even if you don’t have time to read/watch it all today, share the link. Put it in your sig line. It could be the easiest autism advocacy/awareness effort you’ll do.

You can buy autism awareness bracelets at numerous sites in my blog list — TACA, National Autism Association, Generation Rescue, and so forth. Maybe today is the day I should wear my “Autism: It’s no mystery, it’s mercury” t-shirt? (Would that tick off the doctor I have to see this morning to refill my migraine medications? Do I dare risk it? A migraine is pretty painful and puts me out of commission for days……) If nothing else, slap an autism awareness ribbon on your car and be prepared to tell the approaching strangers (who will come, I promise) where you bought it. And oops, leave some of your autism education cards in public places. There’s not a better day to deluge the world that autism is here, it’s not going away, and we all need help.

1 Response to "World Autism Day: Miracles Abound"

I was thrilled to see the AAP is open to learning about DAN! interventions. This is a huge step! I’m still a little sceptical, however; is the AAP truly open to not only learning about biomedical interventions but recommending and implementing them as well? I certainly hope so. (Great blog, by the way!)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

Twitter Updates

