Autism Watch: 2007

Autism Awareness Month

Posted on: March 31, 2008

April is Autism Awareness month. I keep looking around to see what major entities are going to do — you know, how they have pink appliances, pink pens, pink ribbons, pink makeup, everything pink for breast cancer awareness and blue bracelets for cancer, etc. — but so far, the only place I’ve seen so much as a slew of puzzle piece pins is in the Nascar community. We’re at 1-in-150 children with some form of autism, and that’s all I can find? (And way to go, Nascar, for doing this. I would love to see the money go to NAA or TACA, rather than Autismspeaks, but at this point I am at least glad to see the awareness there, period, as they do a great job of discussing autism and giving back to the community.)

I heard Barnes & Noble was doing some reading or related events to help with awareness, but when I last looked at the participating branches here in California, I was sad to see only a couple listed, and nothing local. An email to B & N asking what I could do to help with one locally, or where more were, has gone unanswered for over two weeks now. I see CNN has some autism-related content on Wednesday, April 2. I can’t really find much being done for month-long exposure, though there are some one-time events scattered around. I sure hope I’m missing the big entity events somewhere, and in case I am, I’d love to get some comments directing me on where they are so I can promote them.

On a related note, what are you doing for autism awareness this month? I created some new cards to hand out to people in public: green for mild autism awareness, yellow for “hmmm, you could do with a little autism education” and red for “whoa, hold on, you did NOT just say that to/about me or my child.” I’ve been sharing more and more online links/articles with people. Not sure what else yet, as awareness has become a part of my everyday life, so it’s hard to think of new things that go above and beyond. Guess it’s time to ramp it up a bit….along with this blog entry, a pretty mundane one but considering I’m coughing up a lung as I type, I’m just glad that I can backspace enough to fix my typos.

Have a good autism awareness month — I’m anxious to see what others are doing.

3 Responses to "Autism Awareness Month"

[…] pink makeup, everything pink for breast cancer awareness and blue …article continues at acollage brought to you by cancer.medtrials.info and […]

I agree- I really don’t want my money going to Autism Speaks, either. As I’ve said to a few of my friends, “Autism Speaks does not speak for me.”

I’d like to see more local involvement with World Autism Day. I haven’t seen anything in our news around here about it. That bugs me a lot.

We are having a walk on the 5th sponsored by a local advocacy group. All the money raised will stay in our county.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

Twitter Updates

