Autism Watch: 2007

Christmas on the Spectrum

Posted on: December 26, 2007

As I type this, my little guy is laying next to me, sound asleep. Almost snoring. All things considered, he’s done really, really well this week…despite the dietary infractions (blue and red dye, yeast-y foods, way too much sugar, forgotten supplements) and serious change in schedule and social events. But the stims? Out of control, with pulling his eyelashes being the most common. The only time he’s not doing it is when he’s playing Wii boxing! (My personal recommendation: buy a Wii. Sure, it can be isolating but with multi-player games, many that require working together, you get practice in cooperation, frustration, and motor skills. And low-muscle tone? Lots of good exercise!)

In a couple of weeks, we’re ramping up the biomedical therapies — casein-free, adding in some more supplements (starting with biotin) and more dietary changes. I’m spending hours reading about removing more and more toxins (cleaning products, toothpaste with unnecessary additives, etc.) from the house. New Year’s resolutions? Heck no, who has time?

In the past week, we’ve gone to more parties than I can count on my hands. We’ve gone to our Christmas Eve church service, where we lit the Christ candle, which required quiet standing at the podium for a few minutes. Score. He handled it fine, with only some minor squirmage going on. We took ds shopping. We took him to the infamous karate class. We also expected him to handle all this on less sleep, as we were up later at night yet not necessarily sleeping late in the morning. Through it all, we’ve had sporadic serious wind gusts. Busy-ness + less sleep + more transitions + shopping + lack of routine + WIND = recipe for disaster. And what do I hear outside my window right now? More wind. (We have yet to clean up the wreck that is our backyard. At least we won’t hear the crash as the 300 lb barbecue blows over again. And the Christmas decorations it ruined or came close to ruining? Still in the garage. All I can say about them is poor Snoopy.) Winds mean more irritability and less sleep. Then he gets to look forward to the root canal and crown on Friday morning.

Holidays and children with autism are never boring at least.

And, while I’ve got you — if you’ve got some excellent GFCF or just healthy cooking or green home websites that you love, please comment and share them! I will keep adding them to my blogroll, too. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Twitter Updates


  • Emily: Thank you so much. I share your pain and am glad to know I'm not alone in my struggles with my very verbal autistic spectrum son.
  • Meet Julia, an Autistic Girl in a Sesame Street world | American Badass Activists: […] Apocalypse. That, or demonized in news and online rants, especially after a campus mass murder or a plane-halting meltdown . . . . So this b
  • Alecia: I'm an autistic young woman in the 7th grade. I have experienced exceedingly stupefied and unnecessary discrimination since elementary school. It is s
