Autism Watch: 2007

Jenny McCarthy, People Magazine and Autism

Posted on: September 23, 2007

I think the cat is out of the bag. Even people who don’t know a lot about autism are hearing the word “recovery” and wondering about mercury, vaccines and biomedical therapy. Today my husband brought home the latest People magazine with Jenny McCarthy and her son, Evan, on the cover. I hadn’t read but three sentences and I needed a tissue. Maybe it’s my migraine. Maybe it’s the vicodin I took for my migraine. Or maybe it’s just finally sinking in that autism and recovery and hope are becoming more mainstream.

 If you haven’t read the article yet, it’s well-worth the time. My copy of her book, “Louder Than Words” hasn’t yet arrived (who knew Target would have it on their front shelf, so I ordered) so I’ve not read it yet — it is supposed to be delivered tomorrow, and I will be up late reading it all night Monday. I expect to be tired on Tuesday, but more encouraged.

This past week, my son’s been a different kid. We’re ecstatic and hoping it lasts. What simple, small change did we make? I’ll update tomorrow. I only wish I’d done it sooner.

2 Responses to "Jenny McCarthy, People Magazine and Autism"

Wake up folks, Jenny McCarthy’s son was never autistic. He had infantile seizures. He regressed. He got treatment. He got better. End of story. She used this fake autism diagnosis for publicity just as some greedy, self absorbed hollywood celebs do. Her son was never autistic! Doesn’t anyone see that within 2 years of his “diagnosis” she was already claiming she “cured him” and then hit the talk show circuits and wrote books and did magazine interviews? Hello? Wake up folks. Amazing how this was all a big con job. If you only knew how desperate she was to hijack the autism diagnosis to further her career! she a fraud. Take a serious look at her claims. And her books NEVER tell you exactly what happened. Only vague, abstract skeches for her son’s fake journey into autism.

I’d completely but respectfully disagree. (Emphasis on respectfully. Even if you don’t agree, I think it’s important to be respectful, no need for “wake up” commentary.) Jenny doesn’t say “cure,” she says “recover.” Vast difference. My son has shown a huge recovery — he’s not ‘cured’ and I believe he’ll always be autistic, but he’s shown a great deal of recovery, much like a person recovers after an accident or other illness. They aren’t ever the same, but they are much different. How did we do it? A lot of the same things Jenny talks about. Just because she’s not a doctor doesn’t make her information any less valid. (Doctors said thalidomide and nicotine was safe way back when.) I’ve read all her books and actually met her; sadly, in this world, a normal parent like you or I can’t stand up and get the attention or help, so we need someone who is willing. Autism awareness needs it. I’m curious, Veronica, do you have a child with autism? It’s fine to not agree — I personally don’t agree with those who say vaccines are safe, but I won’t come to your blog telling you to wake up. That just turns people off of your point, something to think about.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Twitter Updates


  • Emily: Thank you so much. I share your pain and am glad to know I'm not alone in my struggles with my very verbal autistic spectrum son.
  • Meet Julia, an Autistic Girl in a Sesame Street world | American Badass Activists: […] Apocalypse. That, or demonized in news and online rants, especially after a campus mass murder or a plane-halting meltdown . . . . So this b
  • Alecia: I'm an autistic young woman in the 7th grade. I have experienced exceedingly stupefied and unnecessary discrimination since elementary school. It is s
