Autism Watch: 2007

Mom, I Have a Headache

Posted on: March 10, 2009

Yep, for reals. That’s a lot of the reason I haven’t been here much lately. I got to the point where I started to think twice about blogging about ds. What’s new to talk about? What will people want to read about? It also gets harder to discuss some things at times. Did I need to stop blogging and re-focus?

After a lot of thought, I’m back blogging. I’ve probably lost most of my readers, but we’ll see. I’ve taken some time to think about the whole point of my blog, and while I’m not sure of the real point yet, there’s still plenty of things to blog about.

Like migraines.

Ds started having headaches a few weeks ago. To be clear, he’s always had them periodically, at least every couple of weeks, and they’ve just gotten a lot more frequent. I’ve spent a lot of time running to the school to either pick him up or give him some pain reliever. I’ve spent equal amounts of time trying to talk him from needing to come home. In the end, he missed a few days of school by either leaving early or staying home entirely for a headache. That just makes it more stressful for him, as he has homework to catch up on. But, his teacher’s been understanding and he’s not been overwhelmed. The doctor ordered bloodwork, and an MRI. We had a social story about the MRI, including pictures of what to expect. (Finding a picture showing the inside of the MRI machine was a challenge, I could only find cartoon cutaways.) Hopefully, the MRI will show nothing, and we’ll move on to treat the headaches as migraines. The bummer is that it may mean an additional daily medication as preventative, and the first doctor pointed out that headaches can be from seizures. I really didn’t want/need to hear that — we already know the path my daughter’s headaches took, so I’m praying ds goes a different direction. No sign of anything else, so it’s a realistic hope.

On other fronts, things are going well in school. He’ll likely be in the GATE program next year. He gets easily bored if the work isn’t challenging enough, and he hates to have to wait for the other kids to finish work after he’s done. And he’s distracted by their noises and poking and prodding. (Of course, I’m sure he contributes his own poking and prodding and noise.) He’s back to finger flapping quite frequently, though he’s twirling his hair a lot less. I’m almost thinking I liked the hair twirling better. We went to Knott’s Berry Farm this past Saturday, and he even waited in a couple of short lines without issues…but we were close.  Thank God their new special assistance pass system works much better than their old non-successful antiquated discriminatory policy. This time? We got immediate boarding the first time on each ride, and a timed boarding, without waiting at that time, on our second ride. We never got around to testing that out, the first time on each ride sufficed as we only lasted until 4pm. La Revolucion did him in, a fast, twirling upside down ride that proved to be too much for him. “Mom, I have a headache” was instead “Mom, that made me feel like I was gonna throw up.”He never did throw up — he inhaled a bowl of Dippin’ Dots but still wanted to go home.

While at Knott’s, he found a new ‘pet,’ a rock with eyes named Watcher. We couldn’t find Watcher before we went to school this morning, but he didn’t freak. No meltdown. No excessive worry, just a calm assurance we’d find it when he got home. And I did find it, hidden in a little box he put it in last night so he had a ‘new house.’ I know he will be excited to hear that when daddy brings him home from school this afternoon.

Back to the headaches. We’ve got a standing order at school for him to receive pain reliever as necessary, and we’re keeping a headache log. Think positive thoughts for us as he has his MRI a week from Thursday, soonest they could get him in.

2 Responses to "Mom, I Have a Headache"

Welcome back to blogging! I hope the MRI works out well and comes back clear.

Keeping you in my thoughts. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Twitter Updates


  • Lorraine: THANK YOU...well said & explained. At least in the case of my three year old daughter and your son.
  • stonerEngineer: amen brother. feedback is the catalyst of change. i make it a point to listen to people and pay attention to their faces. im trying to rewire m
  • kumari patricia: A good rant always feels great, I say. My daughter was mis-diagnosed for YEARS ,since age 1 she had repetitive head-banging and screaming fits, now s
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

